So it seems that earlier today it was announced that with Cataclysm, Blizzard will be “streamlining” the raiding system. This includes making 10 and 25 man raids share a lockout, be closer in difficulty, as well as making all the loot dropped from the normal encounters of both versions exactly the same. And that fact is exactly what is at the heart of the matter.

So, for people like me who run a ten man only raid, this’ll be kind of awesome. I’m curious about whether ten man guilds will be able to get legendaries like the 25’s do now.

Then again, on the other hand we might be seeing things like 25 man guilds are going to die out because ten mans are just easier to assemble. There are already 143 pages in the blue post detailing the changes, most of which are complaining that 25’s are dead. Lissanna over at Restokin has already made her case against the changes. With the same gear coming from the relatively easier to organize and progress ten mans, it will become even more difficult to recruit for a 25 man guild when Cata comes out than it is in the pre-xpac slump now, to the point where no one will run twenty-five mans.

Personally, I’ve never wanted to raid twenty-five mans. The only time I ever went into a raid that big was a PuG and it flopped miserably. I’ll admit that it is a headache to organize the ten man raids my guild does, especially when we get people to sign up but they don’t show up on time, and that organizing a regular weekly 25 man raid must be even more of a pain, and I really do sympathize with Lissanna, since I know how difficult it is to get raiding going when you don’t have enough people.

I do, however, have a bit of a problem with the shared lockouts. We schedule our raids toward the last half of the raid lockout period, so what if a key member runs off and does a PuG Land of Fire (or whatever the new agnaros raid will be) 25 man and ends up being unable to come on the guild run? I won’t be a very happy panda.

All in all though, I guess I’m not really against it. While it does take some of the lustre of 25 man raiding away, Blizz is still trying to make sure people go to them by giving more shinies.

~~

In non raiding news, FIgurePrints is now selling busts of World of Warcraft characters for $70 bucks a pop. Truthfully, I think they’re hideous.

Oh, and FigurePrints isn’t paying me to diss them.

